Forgot About God

Brian Brewington
2 min readFeb 3, 2022
Photo by Michael Kroul on Unsplash

I’ve met those people who were outwardly and openly mad at a God they weren’t even quite sure they believed in, and respected their stance but seen right through their bullshit. I liked their angle, but couldn’t play it out loud.

I felt like looking each of them in the eye and hitting them with a bold and infamous “I see what you’re doing here”.

But I didn’t. I never called them on it directly, I just observed them and studied their moves quietly, from afar.

Wondering, how long it was going to take them to come to the conclusion they were merely mad at themselves, maybe for not believing in something greater until they needed something they couldn’t explain to blame for their choices, circumstances, patterns, thoughts, and life as a whole.

Even on the good days, I practiced a socially distant brand of spirituality, and this was well before Corona. I showed up to confession late, with a mask on, and still only told half-truths.

I guess I figured, fuck it, the priest has done far worse than me and I doubt he’s told a soul. Guess that was just more projection turned defense mechanism.

I fought divine forces until I got tired of flailing my arms aimlessly.

Back to the wall, out of breath, I looked my demons square in the face and hit them harder than they ever had…

--

--

Brian Brewington

Writing About the Human Condition, via My Thoughts, Observations, Experiences, and Opinions — Founder of Journal of Journeys and BRB INC ©